What are the “Levels” and how do they work?

The one habit with a rules-based “scale” in the Whole Life Challenge is nutrition. Levels ONLY apply to nutrition, not to Exercise, Mobilization, Sleep, Hydration, Well-Being Practice, or Reflection.

There are three nutrition levels - Performance, Lifestyle, and Kick Start. Each level has rules for the nutrition categories: Grains & Starches, Sugar, Dairy, Alcohol, Soda, & Juice, and Artificial ingredients - but with different degrees of difficulty or strictness.

  • EXAMPLE - Grains & Starches category:

    • Performance Level

      • YES (allowed): sweet potatoes and yams (no grains of any kind)  

      • NO (lose 1 point per serving): wheat, barley, rye, or any gluten, starchy potatoes (white, red, purple, etc), rice, bread, pasta, quinoa, corn, or soy -- including corn and soy oils!

    • Lifestyle Level

      • YES (allowed): anything from Performance, plus... brown rice, quinoa, amaranth, buckwheat, and wild rice, corn oil, soy oil

      • NO (lose 1 point per serving): any gluten-containing grains like wheat, barley, and rye

    • Kick Start Level

      • YES (allowed): anything from Performance & Lifestyle, plus...corn and other whole grains

      • NO (lose 1 point per serving): bread

Some foods are listed with an asterisk(*) next to them on the Nutrition Level Comparison Chart. An asterisk indicates that this food should be consumed in moderation. "Consume in moderation" foods should not be a staple source of calories in your diet while playing the Whole Life Challenge.

You’ll have the chance to review and choose your level once you're registered and are setting up your game.

Click here to see the Food Lists and Level Comparison Chart

Have more questions? Submit a request
Powered by Zendesk